When high-speed Internet came to my neighborhood, I’m afraid I became a bit of a blog nut: a particularproblem for one who is a peak oil, economic collapse, climate change, gardening, sustainability, food preserving, wild food forager, mushroom growing, writer, foodie nut. The possibilities for education, enlightenment and entertainment are practically endless. Every site I visit has a list of links which leads to sites with a list of links which leads to sites and on and on. This is not such a problem on a below zero January afternoon when not much else is clamoring for attention but on a more usual day when there is much to do and never enough time to get to everything, I have to be selective. I finally got organized when I realized that I had frittered away two hours on surfing instead of updating my food inventory or carrying the canning jars down to the cellar storage. I made a list of the sites I want to get to every day, bookmarked them, then made a list of sites to get to when I had extra time (like at 2:00 am on a night when sleep eludes me). Here’s the list I arrived at.

Survivalblog.com 

This is the Rawles blog that was my very first Internetsite finod. It is probably the most popular, all around site and for good reason. It is easy to navigate and has archives of every possible preparedness subject. I like the fact that a lot of the postings are written by experts in a particular field. There is a good bit of space given over to weapons and communications equipment which I suspect is off-putting to some. I have a confession to make. I generally skip over much of the gun talk but I was motivated enough to sign up for a gun safety course. I bought Patriots (Rawles’ novel) and the Rawles Gets You Geady Course and CD. Rawles posts every day. I usually get up at five and begin my day with survivalblog and coffee.

Urbansurvival is posted by 9:00, 6 days a week. I celebrate getting the last kid off to school with a dose of his doom and gloom.It is a good economic site with a lot of news listed that you won’t get on the morning news. I was a bit skeptical of some of his predictive linguistics but he seems to be right an awful lot.

Life After The Oil Crash: This site usually posts in mid-afternoon. It is a compilation of breaking peak oil and economic news that really pulls together the most pressing news of the day. If I had only one news site to go to, this would be it. Did you read LATOC today is a common question between peak oil types.

The Automatic Earth. This is a terrific site for updated economic and political news. I have gotten lost on this site, reading older posts. I wish I had found it sooner.

Oftwominds (Charles Hughes Smith) ditto.  This guy is scary smart and a good writer.

Clusterfuck Nation. James Kunstler’s site. Most of you know Kunstler’s work.  I was first acquainted with him when I watched The End Of Suburbia. Since then I haven’t missed one of his books. I don’t always agree with him  (I don’t think we can entirely write off the suburbs although we will have to reinvent them) but when it come to Peak Oil, this guy is the bomb. He is also a terrific, compelling writer. I wish he posted every day but his posts are so dense that a little goes a long way.

Americanenergycrisis.blogspot.com Greg Jeffers is a stockbroker, peak oil guy with a well-rounded look at where we are and where we are headed. His postings are erratic but worth the time I take to check several times a day. When Jeffers sounds worried, I get worried.

Act 2: from the wilderness. I read Crossing The Rubicon a few years back andwas pleased to find this blog but be forewarned. Read this with your thumb and security blanket (or a good, stiff drink) at your side. He is very smart and very scary with an eye toward conspiracy theories.

The Oil Drum. The name says it all. One of the best Peak Oil sites.

Sharon Astyk. I love Sharon. Her blogs motivates me to be a better person. She is an elegant writer (check out Depletion and Abundance) with a new book, A Nation Of Farmers due out this spring. I was fortunate enough to read an advance copy and it is terrific. She is a foodie and her blog reflects that. What I admire most is her willingness to put not just her money but her life where her mouth is. This is a must read blog for me.

Dmitry Orlov. This is another blogger who can really write. He stopped blogging for a while andI was bereft. It was such a pleasure to find another post this week. He is so smart. I have a fantasy of a Department of Figuring Things Out in the new administration. Dmitry would be the chairperson.

Peak Oil Blues. It is clear we preparedness types have a lot to worry about so, of course, we need our very own shrink. Don’t expect the Peak Shrink to give you much sympathy for your paranoia. She is far more likely to tell to get off your duff and get to work. She is also a good writer and does her research.

The Woodpile Report: I stumbled on to this site and felt like I had found a kindred spirit. Ol Remus and I may not always agree politically but we share a love of do it ourselves. He has directions for out of the box things like canning butter (I just put up 36 pounds), canning cheese and making a water filter. I plan on making the filter this spring.

Handmaiden’s Kitchen: If you have an interest in wild foods and herbal medicines, check this site out.

Little Blog in the Big Woods. This is just a fun site with Greenpa. Lots of off the grid info that I aspire to more than achieve.

That’s it for the first tier. I also love Stealth Survival, Destiny Survival  and RestoringMayberry but I sometimes have to wait until the weekend and catch up on them.

These are by no means the only good sites. But If I read too much I accomplish too little. That would make me more of an observer and less of a participant which is not what works for me.

