I pulled all of the parsnips yesterday and was then conflicted about how to store/preserve them. I decided the thing to do was experiment a bit. I put one small bunch in the vegetable crisper in a paper bag. I planted another bunch down by the bees. They will apparently grow quite tall and have lovely flowers that bees love. I dehydrated another bunch. They are taking a while to dry but when finished, I will use the food saver and store them in a cool dark place. Some I plan to pulverize and add to mashed potatoes and soups for thickening. The final bunch was stored in food saver bags with all the air sucked out. I put these in the vege crisper. I love Parsnips but no one else really likes them much so this was good thing to experiment with. If one method turns out poorly, it won’t matter the way it would if we lost a bunch of broccoli or peas.

One of the fun parts of this homesteading preparedness stuff is the experimenting. Admit it. You all love to be the one to come up with some nifty idea to save time/money/labor or that results in amazing yields. I know there are folks out there who think this home making  stuff is deadly boring and some of it is. There is just no good way to spice up cleaning a toilet. But figuring out a recipe for home made cleaning solutions, then calculating the cost per ounce (thanks Heather) is alchemy. It makes me feel like a good witch.

It’s easy to run to the store and trade money for a mass produced product. It is much more stisfying to figure how to meet the need without spending money. My Phoebe outgrew a thick cotton dress that she wore over her bathing suit. It has a couple of stains on it and was not really good enough to pass on. I got a brilliant idea. I ran a seam across the bottom. Now using the wide shoulder straps as handles, I have a nifty little produce bag for my occasional trips to the farm stand.

From the old shutters Bruce  used to make a curing shed for squash and potaotes to tc the cobbled together  hot boxes, experimentation and innovation makes most small farms work.

