We have been fiddling with a name for our mini farm for a while and finally settled on Barefoot Farm. My daught-in-law, Maggie, designed the logo for us. I wish I knew how to post it. Maybe Heather can come over today and show me.

I have been working on coming up with a set of good recipes that can be made with food I raise, purchase locally or buy in bulk. This  had to be food that everyone enjoys and also easy on the pocketbook. I have foud that looking to traditional peasant cooking is a good place to start. Last night, We had Golumpki. ( I am probably misspelling this) I got the recipe from Heather, my neighbor both on this blog and in life. She is an excellent Polish cook. I steamed some cabbage leaves to soften, cut out the thick ribs and stuffed them with a mixture of cooked rice, leftover, ground steak, onions, peppers and diced tomatoes. I made a sauce out of the last two jars of home canned tomato juice that was simmered with a bit of sugar to thicken. It was a terrific meal. I am thinking that if I didn’t have the beef, I could substitute black beans or marinated and sauteed oyster mushrooms. We followed this meal with a cobbler of home canned cherries and sweet biscuits. Nothing was purchased from a supermarket as I bulk purchase all of the baking ingredients and the rice. This will definitely go in my preparedness recipe journal.

Heather came by yesterday and said something we laughed at but it is really true. It is expensive to be a peasant. We were talking about buying crocks. I needed a couple of good size crocks for making kraut and pickles but they are dreadfully expensive, as in $200.00 for a locally made, hand crafted crock. Old ones have become collector’s items and are hard to find. I found some huge, glass jars that will do for what I need for only $13.oo so I bought a couple of them. It seems like a lot of us received things when we got married like fondue pots and panini makers, bread machines and espresso machines. What we needed were the basics, crocks and ceramic bowls, cast iron cookware and gardening tools. Now a lot of us have to build a homesteading life from scratch. I sure didn’t inherit that stuff from my parents. We got boxes of knick knacks and murder mysteries. I wish they had not been so anxious to dismiss their peasant roots for the life of cosmopolitan retirees. Of course, they had no way of knowing that the stuff they threw in the dump would be the very thing I would crave a generation later.

My plan today is to spend some time doing an inventory on my bulk grains, flour, rice and sugar supplies. I am afraid I am getting low on a few things. I also plan to look for a new stove. I bought a new stove several years ago and it is the worst piece of junk I ever bought. It has a glass cook top that is not supposed to be used for canning and the burners blow out on a regular basis. The temperature is hard to maintain and it is a pain to clean. I want a gas range. The cook top will work without electricity which is a real selling point and I can use my canning equipment without fearing I will break the top. I hate buy it but my stove is a tool and I need one that works for me.

