We took the girls to the opening night of our agricultural fair last night. It was not as much fun as usual. The first night is 1$10.00 bracelett night meaning for $10.00 you can go on all the rides for the one flat fee. We don’t do carnivals or amusement parks so we hadno problem with letting the kids do this. The propblem we did have is that the livestock doesn’t all arrive until today so by going last night we missed a lot of the stuff we most enjoy. We are expecting a big storm today to make the fair a giant mud pit this afternoon so it was go last night or maybe not go at all. Most of locals go on Saturday. Last night seemed to be a lot of out of towners. There were just too many hollowed eyed teens for my taste. I stuck pretty close to my “too pretty for her own good” daughter. I was a lot more aware of how much junk was there too. The cheap plactic toys from China neverbothered me before but they do now. There was guy selling fried cheesecake (yuk) but the man who used to sell corn on the cob was not around. I don’t know. It just felt different to me.  I won’t go on bracelett night again in spite of the savings. It just had a bad vibe to it.

I got home and was quite happy to start loading my new freezer. I plan to fill it with the food from the two smaller freezers and defrost those. I was not happy with all of the old food I found. I found a few packages of meat that have been there for months (years). I had not freezer wrapped them so they were all dried out and awful looking. I expect they are still good to eat. Just (just!) the flavor will be affected. So today’s poll is this. Would you eat old meat if it had been frozen for 2 years? 1 year? Why or why not? I have some lamb too. The chops look good but I don’t know about the ground meat.

I can see why people used to have pasta night and fish night and meatloaf night. It does make the organization of a kitchen food supply a lot easier. For those of use with big gardens and food animals or those who store food, this is no small problem. We have a lot of blood, sweat, tears and money tied up in our pantries and freezers. I need to get serious about this. We waste too much food in this country and I do not wish to be a part of that. Tonight. we are eating some stew beef that has, quite frankly, seen better days. We are going to eat some of the dried peas that I put up this spring and pull potatoes to serve with it. With a lot of gravy, my kids will eat most anything. Tomorrow it  will be the chicken and on Sunday, I am serving a pot luck with the one piece of fish, the 6 left behind meatballs, the 2 chicken wings and a creamed vege dish that will incorporate a lot of the bottom of the bag vegetables that need to go. The best thing about my new freezer is the compartments. I will be able to put all of the pork in one bin, the chicken in another and so on. I am committing to eating from a different bin each night with 3 nights a week devoted to a vegetarian meals that will use up some of my 75 pound stash of dried beans. It is so convenient to go for the canned beans that I ignore the others. I also have to start eating the dried pasta. I have mountains of it. My kids hate the dried stuff and only want fresh.

All of these disjointed thoughts are connected in some way that has to do with waste and respect for the planet and what we think things are worth. It is too early in the morning and I am operating on far too little sleep to connect them well. I just have this feeling, this inner sense that things are changing. Our wasteful, self-indulgent lifestyles are not going to be sustainable any longer. The kind of excess that made it possible for me to have the luxury of losing a pound of stew beef is disappearing. I have to see this as a good thing although it will be a hard lesson for us to learn.

