Wow! What a great disscussion from yesterday’spost.  It gave me much to think about. Then I went to a pot luck dinner our church hosted for some peace walkers last night and I came home much embarrassed. If I want to support peace in the world, I need to have peace in my life. How does that reconcile with recommending somebody spank their child because he was irritating me, especially if I raised my own kids without hitting? It doesn’t and I take it back. There were probably 10 other strategies that would have worked. Rule number #1 for blogging. Do not write when you are tired or cranky.

This did, however bring up an important preparedness issue. Do not expect me to have a solution. I am just bringing up the subject.

It was clear from the many posts I received as well as from the private emails that many of us have people in our lives we are responsible for. There are the elderly, babies and the physically, emotionally and cognivtively challenged. I believe it is a measure of our humanity that we do not set our disabled family members by the side of the road. We care for them because that’s what we do. That’s who we are. I have two children with pretty significant special needs myself. Without specialized feeding, my dear little Phoebe would not survive. Without daily medication, another daughter would not function. The feeding issue is less problematic. We could feed Phoebe by hand with a homemade formula substitute if the purchased supplement ran out. It would take a chunk of our day and she would suffer nutritionally but she would survive in the short run. In a true grid down, long term disaster, she would probably not live. It would much more difficult for the child who needs medication. There are no herbs or tonics that would replace the very targeted medication she takes. Like I said. No solutions.

As much as  you can, you do need to think about the needs of those who will be unable to care for themselves in a crisis. Are you prepared with diapers and a way to wash them? Do you have a stash of necessary medications? Perhaps the more important question is this. Are you mentally prepared to care for your loved ones, no matter who they are, no matter what the circumstances? It also brings to mind the larger question of your place in responsibility to the wider community. I am attending a multi-town emergency preparedness training on Friday. I will repeat something I have stated before. I can not eat if my neighbors are hungry. I can not be warm if they are cold. We are pack animals. We need our tribe, our herd, our people. Living alone and isolated holds no appeal for me.

