The Saudis have a saying about going from camel to car to jet to camel that has to do with the futility of an expectation of exponential growth. We have similar sayings but for most of us the myth is that continued, constant growth is both possible and necessary. My father walked 5 miles to school and it was uphill both ways. I went to school on a bus, my son drove his own car and his son will go by personal jet pack. My father never saw a doctor, I saw the first polio vaccines, my son has had the benefit of excellent medical care and his son will have  a health care plan designed around his DNA that will prevent all future illness and allow him to live well into his 100′s. My father knew real hunger during the depression, I ate Wonder Bread, my son has access to foods from around the world in all seasons for prices that in no way reflect their real costs and his son will eat a wide variety of enhanced foods that will be palate pleasing, nutritious and cheap enough to feed the masses. My father dropped out of high school to help feed his family. I went to community college after my children were born. My son went to a state college. His son will attend an Ivy League school. You get the picture here. We all want the best for our kids and the best is generally translated as more than what we had. Sorry friends, but I don’t think so. There is not enough stuff left to go around. A lucky few may well have all of the good stuff they want but the odds are that a whole of other people going to do without in order for that to happen.

I am planting trees that will not bear well in my lifetime but my kids will eat the fruit. I am beginning a honey business that has some significant start-up costs associated with it but may provide my kids with a way to earn a living. I am investing in my community so it will remain a good place to live. I am investing in my home so it will be available to provide free shelter for my kids and their kids. I am building permaculture gardens in order to assure a healthy, stable food supply for future generations. My library holds the wisdom of generations of gardening and animal husbandry experience. I am accumulating tools rather than hording cash, buying land rather than new cars, acquiring experience rather than enjoying leisure. I am writing all these things down so my great-grandchildren will know they were loved, even before they were born.

I would like to extend a warm welcome to all of our new readers from around the country and around the world. I say our readers because the pleasure of this blog is that is enriched by the experience of so many who write such useful comments. We are certainly a diverse bunch. I really appreciate the level of respect in your posts. I want all to feel welcome here, no matter what your belief system is.  As the old meditation goes, Dear Lord be good to me. The sea is so wide and my boat is so small. We share the boat and we need each other.

