Each year, I order my turkey from the Creamery as they get their birds locally and they are amazing. I went to pick mine up yesterday and got a wonderful surprise. I had ordered a 16 pound turkey but all that the farm had left were giant birds, all over 20 pounds so I got a 21 pound turkey but only had to pay for 16 pounds. Then, it turned out that three extra turkeys had been delivered and the store had no place to store them and no one who wanted such big birds. I was able to get all three for costs. I walked out with four huge, organically grown, free range birds for $100.00. I put one in the oven before bed last night and got up at 3:30am to get it out of the oven. By the time I got up for the day at 5:00, it had cooled enough to pull the meat off the bone. It is beautiful! I put eight meals of meat in the freezer and have two big pots of soup and stock simmering on the back of the stove. It looks as though I will get at least 10 substantial meals out of each bird.

I have a busy weekend ahead. I had my permaculture group meeting last night. I learn so much each week. I can’t wait for spring. On Friday, Sharon Astyk is coming by for a visit and on Saturday, I will be spending the day at our Potlatch. The used gifts are already coming in. Somehow, I need to pull a couple of hours away from the¬†Potlatch¬†to go to a class on making medicinal herbal infusions and tinctures. Fortunately, all of things I go to are withing a mile of my house. If I had to travel, there is a lot I wouldn’t do.

I hope for a wonderful holiday for you all. We have much to be grateful for. Near the top of my list will be the friends I have met through this site. I am the last person I ever thought would have internet friends but there it is.

My best wishes to you and yours.

Peace,

Kathy

