I am so touched. I really had no idea how many folks were coming here. I have had emails and phone calls and all of these lovely posts. It was like Christmas morning for me. If you are all not sick of me, I will certainly continue although I can’t guarantee that every post will be about preparedness.

Did any of you catch the 60 Minutes episode about Wilmington, Ohio? It is a town in the grips of what can only be called a depression after DHL, the town’s only big employer, left for good. Of, course, the loss of the big employer also impacted the small businesses and many have lost their homes. This led to a loss of tax revenue which has impacted the schools and the loss of health coverage has led to the closing of medical clinics. It is a truly awful situation.

Now, I am no economists but I don’t get this whole mess. I don’ t see the usefulness in banks foreclosing on people’s homes in such an instance. Would it not make more sense to rewrite those loans and keep roofs over families’ heads? It isn’t as though the homes will be sold. Nobody is buying. They sit empty and falling into disrepair as families sit in shelters or double up with relatives. It is hard to get up the energy to look for or create work when you are living in a shelter. Your kids can’t do their homework properly, there are more health issues and there is no way for folks to take steps like growing food or working cooperatively within a neighborhood to take care of each other. Relationships dissolve and self-esteem crumbles.

If you have a home, cherish it. Even if is not in the house of your dreams, in the location you long for or as fine as you wish, care for it and be grateful for it. It is more than many have. I lived in a tenement slum when I was small. We were very poor but I remember that my mother always kept our house as neat as a pin. There were always pretty things to look at and good smells coming from the kitchen. No matter how restricted our circumstances, she always made sure our houses were made into homes for us. I think my attraction to adoption and foster care came from my desire to provide the warmth of home and family to child who had neither.

People may need to get creative about keeping their homes. Share your space, cur expenses to the bone, eat from the food pantry, do whatever it takes to keep that roof over you head. With a home, you can put in a garden, even if that means growing sprouts on a windowsill. You can insulate windows with bubble wrap and sleep together in one room on the coldest nights. You can gather your friends and neighbors for potluck dinners and fill your house with music and laughter.

I am angry beyond words that banks have made out so well when so many hardworking people are suffering. A pox on those responsible. Shame on those who think they are too big to fail. When you deprive a person of their home while you live in splendor, there should be no place for you to hide, no place for you to lay your head.

