I am, as you know, a big fan of muffins. They are the ultimate convenience food. Hot, they make a good breakfast and one can always be tucked in a backpack (good use for a cottage cheese tub) for a quick snack away from home. I also like than I can often plop in a tablespoon of leftover this or that for added nutrition or just as a way to use up something I have a small bit of. In coming hard times, I think we will be less likely to throw away food and recipes like this are good to have on hand.

I went to the market last week. I must say that I rarely purchase cold cereal. The price for a box has gone way up and the ingredient list nearly always contains high fructose corn syrup. But I have had a hankering for bran muffins so I decided to buy a box of raisin bran. The name brand kind was $4.99 a box, way more than I wanted to spend. I found several less expensive varieties but all were loaded with ingredients I couldn’t pronounce. Then I found a brand called Full Circle Organics. It was only $2.15 a box and had not one loathsome thing in it. Now I am certain that if I looked deeper, I would find out something about that would not be good (the reason I usually only eat oatmeal) but for my purposes, this worked. They do have website that I plan to visit today.

2 cups raisin bran cereal

2 1/2 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup applesauce

2 eggs

2 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 cups sugar ( I often cut this back to 1 cup but the texture is compromised. I will try this recipe with half honey this time and let you know how they come out)

1 1/4 teas baking soda

1 teas baking powder

1 /2 teaspoon salt

Let the cereal and buttermilk sit together in a large bowl for about 5 minutes. Add the oil, eggs and applesauce and stir well. Stir in the dry ingredients and mix but don’t over mix or the muffins will get tough. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 18-20 minutes. Make sure you grease the muffin tins or they will stick dreadfully.

As long as you have everything out and the oven is hot anyway, you might just as well make a double batch. They freeze well if you can get them put away before your family eats them. One note-I almost always add more raisins. These muffins can be made with any bran cereal and I have been known to throw in different kinds of cereal that has gotten stale as long as it isn’t something with a strong flavor like Sugar Frosted Chocolate Marshmallow and Gumdop Delight.

