One of the downsides to writing a book is that you then have to talk about it to media types so you can sell it, at least you do if you plan to make a living. Now I must say that nearly every reporter I speak with seems bright and interested and does a fair job representing my philosophy on preparedness but every once in a while…..

The main point I have to argue is this. Since I prepare I must live in  a state of constant fear and worry. I must be depressed and anxious and my kids must pick up on this and be worryiers as well. This could not be further from the truth. I think I need a new word for what I am because survivalist, prepper, doomer and EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS EXPERT just don’t really seem to fit who I am at all.

Here is what I am.

Frugal: I would rather buy in bulk and save my money for things that matter to me. What matters is time. If I spent more I would have to work more and that would mean time away from home and family and garden and books and cross stitch.

Lazy: I like to keep things neat and organized because I hate to waste time looking for stuff. I’d rather nap. I dislike the ordeal of shopping. I love just reaching into a  cupboard and pulling the makings of a delicious dinner. It gives me great pleasure to have one of kids yell, “Hey, Mom. Do we have any more molasses?”  and for me to answer, “Look in the upstairs pantry” knowing that there are 6 bottles up there.

Confident: Being prepared doesn’t make me anxious. Just the opposite. I can watch the news of an impending storm and not have to think about a trip to town, where I put the flashlights and how I’m going to cook that 9-year-old can of stew. I don’t need to go to town, I know exactly where the flashlights are and they all have fresh batteries and I would never have a nine-year can of anything. I made the stew myself the summer before. I know it’s great because we eat it often and I can cook it any one of 5 ways.

Lat night we were still in the mess of painting when supper time arrived. It had jar of mixed vegetables in the basement, a chicken carcass that I had boiled for stock and a can of chicken as well. I thickened the stock with some  corn starch and tossed everything together in a pastry crust. A chicken pot pie in no time and with no racking my brain for what to make. It was really good and meaty and the pressure canned vegetables had held up really well. Even the potatoes still had just the right tooth to them. The pastry dough was in the freezer, ready to go so there was hardly any mess either. The girls helped with the whole meal. They don’t feel anxious. They feel competent. It was a good night. I love preparedness.

