My DH did a wonderful job on our library. He painted it a lovely, warm deep gold and is now adding a gorgeous trim and corner medallions to the bookcase front. He built the bookcases several years ago but the plain fronts really didn’t go well in our 1860′s house. This project cost very little money but made a big difference in the look of our home. I wanted to make Bruce something special for breakfast and decided on popovers.

We love popovers. They are inexpensive and delicious and so easy, my kids can make them.

I start by putting a greased, cast iron skillet in the oven and preheating it to 450 degrees. Then I mix up a cup of milk, a cup of flour, a shake of salt and two eggs into a thin batter. When the oven and the pan are hot I pour in the batter. I don’t let the kids do this as this pan is really hot and a wrong move will give you a nasty burn. The batter cooks at 450 for 15 minutes then I drop the temperature to 350 and cook for another 15 minutes. The popover should be golden brown on the outside and moist on the inside. We like ours served with some butter and fruit jam. This can be cooked in muffin tins if you prefer. One caveat is that these are fabulous and one pan is never enough for four adults. We always have to make a double batch.

This is one recipe that is not suited for fat-free milk. I use whole milk and really fresh eggs. I suppose there is not much that is not improved by using real food.

My potting soil is inside warming up so I can get some seeds started today. My greens in the green house have really perked up in the past two days and I am cutting some for a pizza topping for dinner this evening.

I found the story coming out of Austin just heartbreaking. I am so glad to be part of a community that is taking positive steps to decouple from an economic system that doesn’t work for so many. I try to stay away from politics on this site but I do want to speak to this. When I do posts on saving money it is not because I want to put a high value on the money but rather on the time that you own by working less in the outside economy. We all need money. We need food and cars and roofs over our heads. I save money in small ways so I can have those things without having to leave my home to go to work every day. In truth, I would probably work less if I just got an actual job but it comes down to what you consider work. I can spend 8 hours putting in  20 rows of potatoes.  It’s hot work and May Flies are out and my back hurts and my nails are broken and dirty but I don’t consider this work. If I had to put on a suit and stockings, get in my car to drive to an office where I spent 8 hours sitting at a desk with a phone in my ear and a computer screen glaring in front of me, I would consider that work. My nails would be clean but my soul would be wounded. I would be depleted at the end of the day in a very different way than I am after a day in the garden. I value my time but I put very little value on stuff. My favorite quote is “It is not he who has little but he who wants more who is poor”.

