Just kidding. You can have soup. In fact you should have soup. It’s cheap, easy and it uses up all of the odds and ends that will otherwise end up in the compost. I store some canned soups for those days when the girls have to heat up a quick lunch but it is really not much of a food. Canned soup has too much salt and lots of the GMOs that we are trying to avoid.

Making your own soup is really a breeze if you have stock on hand. Making stock takes some time but the stove does most of the work. Begin with your biggest pan. I like leek tops, onions with the skins (go light on the onions) mushroom stems, parsley, carrot tops, celery and maybe a bay leaf and some salt. Things to avoid are the Brassicas, potatoes and too much garlic. That’s it for vegetable stock. Adding a carcass from a turkey or chicken will give you a lovely stock too. If you want beef stock look for some short ribs or another boney piece and brown it well before you add it to the stock. A tablespoon of vinegar to the water is supposed to help release the nutrition from the bones. I ry to crack bones to get some of the marrow into the stock. That jelly stuff that sits under the fat when you cook meat is great stuff. You can freeze it until you are making stock but toss out the fat unless you have a use for it. I simmer my stock for a good hour and sometimes more. Then strain it through a colander and press the leavings to get ou all of the flavor. If you stock has meat in it, let it cool so the fat will rise to the top. It will peel right off. Now you can freezer the stock or can it. It must be pressure canned, no matter what anybody tells you. This is a low acid food.

I freeze stock in amounts from 1 cup to 1 quart. I cook rice and savory grains in stock rather than plain water. It adds a depth of flavor, trace nutrients and color to otherwise bland foods.

As I cook, I put the bits and pieces I need for stock in a plastic bag in the freezer. When I have enough I put them in the stock pot while still frozen. If you are trying to save on space, the stock can be strained and simmered longer to concentrate it. Just add more water when you use it.

