The weather promised rain this past weekend and failed to deliver more than spotty showers. It was no where near enough to make up for the deficit we have. There is a possibility fo rain on Tuesday and Wednesday. We can only hope.

Meanwhile, as we can still irrigate, we are actually having a fairly successful garden. I have lost the cauliflower and the broccoli looks pretty unhappy but the tomatoes are doing well and the peppers are loving it. I have just started more brassicas and plan to replant in early August. I will have resort to row covers to beat an early frost but these cool weather vegetables play a big role in our winter eating and I don’t want to face a winter without broccoli soup. More and more, the virtues of learning to like a diet of the things that grow well where one lives makes good sense. Plan A might include family favorites but Plan B has to include what is totally reliable. For us, it’s potatoes and squash, corn and beans. They tend to grow no matter what, especially the old varieties.

I planted an old variety of painted sweet corn this year. It’s doing well with no extra water. It’s a funny looking corn, more like decorative corn than anything else and certainly not as sweet as the hybrids but it’s open pollinated so I can save the seed. I wish I could save the seed on my squash but we plant a number of varieties and they cross-pollinate so you never know what will come up the next year. I know how to keep that from happening (in theory at least) but for now I have just vacuum sealed seeds and stored them in my freezer. Just in case.

A summer like this really drives home the point that nature will always have the last laugh. I have touted the Northeast as the place to live in hard times because of our dependable water. Last year we only had a few days without rain and lost our tomatoes and potatoes to blight because of it. This year, the grass is brown and only constant watering will save the garden in this heat. It just knocks the hubris right out me.

