I really appreciate all of the input on the blight and other problems. The comments did get me thinking about how I want to plan for my future gardening endeavors, especially after my permaculture meeting last night.

I have just downloaded google earth. I am going to pull up a picture of my land and bring it in to the copy store to have it printed on a large sheet of oaktag. (I’m assuming this can be done) Then I am going to add the footprint of my house, driveway, kid’s play area, shed, fences and permanent plantings; all of the things that can’t be moved will be plotted. With two hole at the top, I can add rings and some plastic overlays. I can then use a marker to add changes as they come to me. The benefit is that I can try things out, accounting for slope, wind, water flow and so on. We are doing these plot plans as a group so I will have help as I need it. I think this kind of planning tool will really help plan for future beds, trees and bushes. Plus it will be a lovely way for Bruce and me to spend a cold winter night.

For now, I’m trying to enjoy the garden as it is. In spite of the heat and dry weather, many things are doing well. I think I am going to have a banner year for root vegetables and winter squash, not so good for the broccoli and cauliflower although I have not given up the fight. I have 48 new starts in the greenhouse, If I get them in the ground in 2 weeks, use some floating row covers at the end of the season and get a little cooperation from nature, I may get a harvest yet. I have replanted string beans too. My potatoes are not as large as I had hoped but they look healthy. I haven’t found any critter damage at all from the ones I’ve dug. Another two weeks of growth and they should be ready to pull.

¬†We had a decent honey harvest this week. We’ll extract today. Thank goodness! I have no honey left and I miss it terribly. I refuse to purchase cheap honey in the market. It’s sometimes ¬†shipped from China and cut with corn syrup. This keeps both price and quality low and makes it impossible for local producers to compete.

