My church was invaded by a biker gang last night! No leather, no motorcycles, just college kids on mountain bikes crossing the country from Portland, Oregon to Boston to look at food; who’s growing it, how they’re growing it and how far it travels before it hits your plate.

It rained here this weekend. Poured actually and the kids were supposed to camp at a state park near us. But they were cold and wet and hungry and looking for dry sleeping quarters. Our church has a big vestry and we let the kids sleep there. I brought them over a pan of brownies after supper and stayed for a chat. It was nothing that I didn’t already know. Mainly, we talked about the coming food crisis in this country and how we would all be well served to begin to source local food today.

It was serendipitous that I should have this conversation at this time. Bruce and I have been talking a lot about selling our honey and what price we should ask. We both know we should raise the price to reflect the inputs of time and money and the cost of jars but if we do we run up against the competition from imported honey. Chine sells honey for much less than we can sell honey, even when you factor in the cost of transport. Why? Because it’s often cut with corn syrup and because the workers are poorly paid. The honey is often routed through India. When you go to market and find honey for $3.99 a bottle it looks like a steal compared to the $5.00 Bruce has to charge. And it is a steal. It steals our local economies and local food sheds.

While I can grouse about the honey I know I make some poor decisions too. Every time I buy from a chain rather a local vendor just to save a couple of dollars I become a part of the problem. I need to be more mindful.

To end on a pleasant note; it’s raining!!!! It started on Friday night and has been raining pretty steady since then. It’s cool too. There is actually a fall kind of nip in the air. The rain is too little to late for many crops but it’s welcome none-the-less.

