We all know that eating local is important for our own health and the health of our local food systems and economies. Our version of grace is to talk about our food, where it came from and what the costs were to get it to our plates. While there are things I must import like salt and sugar, most of the time there’s a local option if we give it some thought. I needed to make a main dish for dinner with Dmitry on Saturday night. I wanted it to be good but I needed it to be simple. I settled on potato soup. It is such a simple dish but with a salad and bread and topped by an incredible cake made by our dear friends, Barbara and Sheri, it was really good. sautéed onions and leeks, potatoes boiled in chicken broth and light cream, how easy and inexpensive is that?  In a few weeks the pigs will be ready and we can have it with ham.

My freezer is packed and I need to take a day to put some of the great organization practices I learned from you all to work. I had planned to refrain from putting one more thing in my big freezer until I got it cleaned out but I got a Creamery offer I couldn’t refuse. The had a HUGE salmon left over from a catering event and offered it to me for cost, an offer I couldn’t refuse. I admit I was a bit surprised when I opened the crate to find it was a whole fish, fins and all. It took a while to cut it up but the result is ten generous meals of wild caught salmon that otherwise had no home.

I was nervous about letting Phoebe watch me do the cutting. She’s a sensitive little thing and I was afraid she would be upset and refuse to eat it. As most of you know, Phoebe has a feeding tube as the result of stomach issues related to her syndrome and eats very little orally. Salmon is one thing she likes and can eat. To my surprise, she took the whole thing as a grand adventure, delighted with the fins which she thought were fish wings. I am perhaps a bit more sensitive than some people about what my kids are exposed to as so many have experienced trauma before coming to us but I think I probably underestimate their ability to cope with real things like animals that are raised for food. Our own attitude is what makes the difference.

The Orlov talk was very good. He’s not an optomistic fellow but once again, I feel as though he validated our decisions about where we live and how we spend our money. Most of all I continue to feel blessed by my friends and neighbors. We had our little honey festival this weekend. We made some money but mostly we had a blast, pressing cider, painting pumpkins and meeting people. A few mentioned how nostalgic they were for a way of life they never lived, the laughing children, none of whom own a video game or Ipod, the animals underfoot, the camaraderie of the neighborhood. It felt good. It is good and it has staying power.

