We are still waiting but I’ve been keeping busy.

The first tiny transplants are doing well in the greenhouse. I got some major cleaning and organizing finished. I did a big bulk order of rice, peanut butter, a soup bean mix and some other, often used staples. Now I have to bite the bullet and order some more buckets. I’m not finding anybody willing to part with their buckets. I can’t afford to buy gamma lids for all of the buckets I need without cutting into my storage food budget so I’ll continue to use gamma lids for the buckets I use every day and regular lids for the rest.

I’ve been doing a lot of public speaking which means doing a lot of writing. I spoke at UMass yesterday on how teachers can respond to the needs of children impacted by foster care and, on Saturday, will be giving a short presentation on food resiliency at an Earth Day event here in town. I actually wrote this up a few weeks ago but I’ve changed that in light of recent events. I thought what I had written was pretty academic when I think people are far more interested in concrete information. I’ll be focusing more on how families created resiliency historically. We have a lot to learn from our ancestors which is why I so love historical books that examine family life. I’m reading Home Life In Colonial Days by Alice Morse Earle just now. It’s a fun read and gives some insight that is particular to the East coast.

I did want to mention that I have not been approving some comments. I don’t approve comments that are links to political or religious sites. I want this to be a place for a free exchange of information and not a place that veers off into places that incite heated debate on politics. I’m happy to debate the safety of canning butter but not left vs right, tea party vs liberal vs conservative. Whatever our political leanings, we are all rowing this boat together and I want everybody on board to concentrate on getting to shore.

I appreciate all of the good wishes on my upcoming grandmahood. I’m already a grammy several times over but that doesn’t lessen the joy of anticipation of heading there again. For many years Bruce and I provided foster care and we always loved it when we had a baby. I never minded the diapers or the lack of sleep. I always felt as if I was holding a little miracle. It is a sad and sorry world sometimes but it is also a world where good people do heroic things and where beauty abounds.

