I am a bit of an armchair economist groupy. I was never a numbers girl in school but I find a certain satisfaction in trying to figure this stuff out now. I wish I had a better head for it but I am getting so I can make sense of it if I give it time. One of my favorite pastimes is reading the predictions. You know the ones I’m referring to. The system will collapse on this day or this month. This stock or commodity will soar. Inflation will rule, unless of course it’s deflation or stagflation or some mutant combination of all three. If I had the time, it would be fun to keep track of all the predictions and then read what the prognosticator had to say when he or she was wrong.

So here is my investment advice based on my all I have learned in the past five years.

1. My house. Every dime I spend to make my house more comfortable or more energy efficient pays big benefits now. I think the benefits will only increase down the line. Every one minute I spend keeping my home orderly and organized is two minutes not wasted looking for stuff. Today my house is a cluttered mess. I feel out-of sorts and unproductive. I hate that.

2. My health. I’m not a kid anymore. I can’t afford to neglect my body. I just don’t recover like I used to. I want bacon every morning but I eat the oatmeal. I would rather not be tied to cholesterol medication but I have a family history of deaths from hearth attacks in late 50′s or early 60′s. I’m not taking any chances. I walk when I would rather read and refuse seconds on the pie. I have no self-control when it comes to junk food so I just don’t keep any in the house.

3. My community. Church and PTO, town meetings and small businesses, they take time and money but small towns run on volunteerism and sacrifice. If I want this town to work post peak, I need to do my part to lay the ground work now.

4. My family. Be nice to your kids and your partner. The family picture of blown kisses as you all rush out the door to spend your day apart is not likely to hold up. Quality time is important but quantity matters too. Working together, playing together, even fighting together is necessary for a family to work.

5. My friends. I have the best friends in the world. I have trouble separating friends from family. When the chips are down, I want friends I trust around me and I don’t think you learn that trust if all you do together is shop or party. I think you need to work and laugh and sacrifice with and for each other.

I have no idea when TEOTWAWKI is going to happen. Maybe today and maybe never. I do know that I have a limited time on this planet and I want to enjoy it. I have some financial investments and I hope they will provide me with a comfortable retirement (assuming comfortable involves shoveling chicken s…t and harvesting vegetables) but those investment could disappear any time. My house, my health, my community, my family and my friends have staying power. That’s where I put my energy.

