On Saturday night, a group of friends car-pooled to a local community college to watch a friend perform in a play. We began the evening with an elderly lady falling right in front of us. It was pretty clear that she had broken a hip. It’s so hard to watch someone helpless and in pain but soon enough the paramedics arrived and whisked her off to the hospital. We watched the play and headed for home. We had nearly arrived when my DH noticed a motorcycle lying on its side on the edge of the road. We pulled u-turn and went back to investigate. Another car coming from the opposite direction did the same. Now this stretch of road is pretty deserted at this time of the night and the odds of two cars meeting and illuminating a particular piece of road are pretty slim. We jumped out of the van to investigate. It was a motorcycle but there was no operator. I grabbed a flashlight ane we started a search. In a few minutes we found the boy, seriously injured, way over the guard rail in the deep grass. I won’t describe his injuries here. Let me just say they were clearly life-threatening. My first-aid kit is meant for minor injuries, not the kind of thing we were looking at. The boy needed a trauma surgeon, not some bandages and aspirin. We called 911 and waited for the ambulance crew to arrive. They did and the boy was air-lifted to the nearest trauma center.

The whole thing left me shaken. We could do so little for him. We held his hand and talked to him and put a towel over the worst injury, to protect ourselves as much as to stop the bleeding. This has got me to pondering our role in the bigger picture.

I write about prepping and I do believe that we all have a responsibility to take care of ourselves and to prepare for a world of resource depletion and economic instability. But I think we also have a responsibility to the wider village. I think we all need a place to put some energy, whether it be your library, your hospital, your school or your fire and police departments. In rural locations, a lot of these things are volunteer organizations and they need all the bodies they can muster. As people spend more time away from home or “being entertained” in front of tvs and computers, it’s getting harder all the time to find people willing to commit. I am urging every reader to find a place to be useful. Now I realize that some people really don’t have the time or the health or the ability to do much but if possible, do something.

On a prepping note, I plan to go to the LDS cannery in Worcester next Saturday. I’m making up a list now. The wish list is heavy with grains and flours as I’m low on those. I also want to stock up on baking supplies, especially sugar and baking soda. Bruce got a nail gun and air compressor for Father’s Day so work can begin on the summer kitchen. I got several bales of mulch hay yesterday and I need to spend some time getting it spread in the squash patch and between the potatoes. We have a spell of good weather predicted and I need to literally make hay.

