I managed to find a few racks of seeds at Greenfield Farmer’s Co-op and filled a small bag. I was disappointed that the price had not dropped. Generally, seeds are 1/2 price by now but I paid the full freight on everything. I found 9 varieties of tomatoes and 4 different peppers, eggplant, summer squash, pumpkins (but no winter squash) several types of peas, horticultural beans, lots of herbs, quinoa, buckwheat, lots of brassicas, beets, carrots and 10 packages of mixed greens. Most were heirloom seeds. It was quite a haul. I plan to vacuum seal them in a 1/2 gallon Mason Jar and keep them in the freezer until spring. The rest of my multiplier onions arrived yesterday too. I have to wait until January to order the seeds for the Oregon Sweet Meat squash. I’m just glad I found a source.

My permanent food group is reading The Resilient Gardner for our winter book choice. I love the book and think it’s a good choice. Our next project is to assign each of us different one variety of squash to raise from each of the three families so we can save the seed. I’m the only group member with neighbors and all of them garden so saving seed is a bit harder because of the cross-pollination issue but it’s doable. At end of the year, we’ll have a party and swap squash. We have enough people participating to ensure lots of redundancy. None of us will be the only source.

I’m reading two books. The first is Carol Ekairus’s Illustrated Guide To Poultry Breeds (Storey) and Jenna Wogonrich’s Chick Days. I’m having to buy eggs as our chickens are really slowing down in production. I would love to expand next year and maybe experiment with some of the rare breeds. I also want to have enough poultry to have some winter production. We have Rhode Island Reds now. They’re hardy and a good dual purpose birds but I sure do love Buff Orpingtons. My chicken books will have to feed my poultry addiction until spring.

