First and foremost, welcome to all our new readers. I know a lot of you came here by way of Mother Earth and more through some of my classes. However you came here and wherever you are on your journey, you are welcome here.

I have to post this evening as I’m heading off to Boston in the morning to chaperone my daughter’s field trip to the Boston Science Museum. Six hours on a bus with 50 third, fourth and fifth graders. Yeah!

I’m a subscriber to Susco, a sustainable living forum. I love that place, particularly the threads on canning and food preservation. One of my favorites is called 100 days of canning. The idea was to can for 100 of the 150 days of your heating season. I want to do the challenge but with a bit of a twist. I know I’m more likely to do marathon canning days and then take a long break so I was thinking ao=bout how I could attack this. Here’s what I came up with. I want to do 100 days of sustainable living. That opens the door for any number of projects that aren’t about food. For instance, one day could be devoted to making laundry soap and another to making wine. Buying bulk beans would be one day and organizing my seed bank another. Each time I take a knitting lesson I can mark off a day. You get the picture. The goal is to keep on keeping on.

I have to head over to our Community House in a few minutes to meet with the board of selectmen. We are requesting space in the basement for our sewing center as we have run out of space in the church. I hope this works. With this added space we could include a clothing exchange and hold more frequent clothing repair clinics. The best part would be the added ability to organize our supplies. People have been so generous with donations but finding what you need can be a challenge. And if we get the space, each day I spend on cleaning it up and setting up the center will count toward my 100 days.

