Until it does. The October snow storm has left 600,000 people in Massachusetts without power. A lot of these people are still in recovery from Irene. The odd thing is that the power is not out up here in the hilltowns. It’s down in the cities, Northampton, Westfield, Springfield, along with the small, bedroom communities. We got a lot of snow, over 24 inches in my backyard, but I think we were in better shape because our leaves had already fallen so we didn’t have the branches down that the valley saw.

The news show pictures of people waiting in long lines to get gas at the few open station. Interviews with people who are stranded in homes with no heat, no water and no food have a common theme. “We didn’t expect it to happen here. Who knew? We just weren’t prepared because these things just don’t happen here.” Until they do. Fortunately, Nate and Amanda and their kids made it through the canopy of downed power lines and broken branches and are here for the duration.

I got a lot of the carrots, all the cabbage and the broccoli harvested before the storm hit but I still have more carrots and beets and all the turnips still in the ground. I hope the snow insulates the ground from the frigid temperatures.

I had a very nice incident yesterday. Last week, when we cleaned out the Community House basement in preparation for the move of the sewing center, I put a bag of charcoal in my car. Now I didn’t need the charcoal but I couldn’t see throwing it in the dumpster and nobody else would take it. So yesterday, I took Karen to the Creamery for work and there was man there looking for charcoal as he had no way to cook but a Hibachi. I was able to give him the charcoal, saving him some money and putting the fuel to good use. I did not point out that HE SHOULD HAVE THOUGHT OF THIS WHEN HE SAW THE FORECAST!!!! There. Rant over.

One of the good things that happened with having my kids here as a captive audience is that I had an opportunity to talk with them about what the future may look like and what steps they could take to insulate themselves from the worst dislocation. It’s a conversation we’ve had before but it has more impact when you can’t be home because you can’t heat it and can’t cook.

Hope you all stayed safe and warm. Let us know how you fared.

