Now that Ben and Maggie have moved on, I have been cleaning, decluttering and organizing the upstairs. How does all this relate to preparedness? Well, when I was putting together a sleeping plan during the snow storm I realized that I had misplaced the bin with the wool blankets and a second bin with extra pillows. I found them but I wasted a lot of time. This time I had it to spare but another time I might be scrambling.

I consider getting my home in order the first rule of preparedness. Not being able to find something is the same as not having it. The winds of change are in the air again. I try not to fall into worry mode but as things in Europe don’t seem to get any better and unrest in the ME has escalated I find myself running scenarios in my head. What if I had to provide shelter for more family members? Who would sleep where? How long would the food stores last? How much area could I plant with seeds on hand? How long would the wood last? What about the lamp oil?

These aren’t idle questions. Our history, both as a nation and as a species, has been defined by crisis. We are coming out of an age of stability and entering an age of instability. It’s a new normal in economics, climate and energy. Any one of a number of wiggly dominoes could topple any time. I have no idea which is going down first but I find it hard to believe that my life will just keep rolling on without being affected by job loss or food insecurity or weather crisis or energy constraints. Whether the impact will be a solvable problem or an intractable predicament is largely up to me.

