I just finished organizing my baking supply cabinet. I composted an awful lot of outdated spices. I think, in the future, I will buy smaller amounts from the health food store of those spice I seldom use. One can get into a bulk buying frenzy and it isn’t always best. I grow and dry most of my herbs and those have held up well. I can have trouble with ants because of the honey and molasses I keep. After washing the cabinets and replacing the shelf paper, I sprinkled some Cayenne pepper around the edges. Ants hate it. I had a bumper crop of hot peppers last year. I whizzed them in my spiced grinder and used that.

I am getting ready to tackle my pots and pans. I have a few Teflon coated pans left. I am tossing them. I do not feel good about using anything that flakes for my food. If my food is excellent, it deserves the best for cooking. I am slowly replacing my old pans with better quality cookwear. Tools of all kinds are investments. I am willing to have have fewer to have better. In fact, I look forward to fewer. This is the essence of preparedness and sustainability. I have been through 10 sets of pots and pans in 35 years of marriage. If I had gotten better stuff to beging with, I would have been using the same ones now. Less in the landfill and less overall money. I plan to buy stuff that can be handed down to my kids. One of my favorite pans is my mother’s old cast iron skillet. It is my go-to pan for biscuits and popovers.

