Sometimes a slush bound day is good thing. I was supposed to go out this morning but the weather will keep me in. This works because I am finishing Mike Folkerth’s book, The Biggest Lie Ever Told. I keep up with economic news but there are often pieces that don’t make sense to me. Mike’s book is not your typical doomer read. It is funny, informative and makes sense to someone without an MBA. I don’t recommend a lot of books but this one will find it’s way to my kids, just as Sharon Astyk’s book, Depletion and Abundance did. Add my book and you have a good starter library to life in this new world.

After that shameless plug, I want to talk about grains and legumes. I store a lot of both as they are cheap, readily available, will store nearly forever and provide a huge nutritional bang for the buck. The trouble for me was making them tasty enough to appeal to my family. Last night I made an investment in a cooking class that walked me through the finer points of preparing meals from what seem like pretty pedestrian ingredients. Even my husband, the meat man, liked the bean burgers I brought home and the kids fought over the dal (a kind of stewed lentil dish served with rice).

I know too many people who store food they won’t eat, thinking that in a crisis, they will figure it out. Guess again. Kids will go hungry before they eat something they hate. It pays to spend the money on some good cookbooks and spend time preparing meals from stored foods. We eat from storage several days each week. My new goal is a rice and beans in some incatation twice a week. I also want to cook with some grains I have never eaten before. Last night I ate rye and quinoa, new foods for me. With the right seasonings, they were terrific.

We are a spoiled bunch when it comes to food. Walk into a supermarket and the sheer volume overwhelms the senses. We can have strawberries in January and winter squash in July. Meat is affordable to most Americans at least some of the time. It is easy to forget that most people in the world eat less than we do and have a far more limited variety available to them. I can see a future where the lowly bean plays a much bigger role in the family meal plan. It behooves us to figure this out sooner rather than later. We will be healthier, save money and tread more lightly on the planet.

Back to the book and the cleaning. I do love getting things accomplished after laying around for nearly three weeks.

