Sharon Astyk has one of the best blogs on the internet and I never miss it. She has mentioned me a couple of times (thank you! thank you ! thank you!) but this past week she spoke of me as one of the woman Peak Oil writers. I had this surreal moment of wondering which Kathy Harrison she was referring to. I think of woman like Sharon and Carolyn Baker as being in an entirely different league than the one I play the game for. I am going to make a really uncomfortable confession here. There are lot of really deep and original thinkers out there and I certainly never started out thinking I would be one of them. Rawles at survivalblog knows more than I ever will about most aspects of preparedness. Go to Sharon at Casaubon’s Book if you want to know about peak oil and agriculture. Head over to Life After The Oil Crash with Matt Savanar for the blow by blow of peak oil/economic collapse. Ole Remus at the  Woodpile report, George Ure at Urban Survival, the list goes on of people who get this stuff. A lot of it is so complicated that you need multiple Phd’s in geology, biology, agriculture, and economics to even begin to understand the intricacies.  Orlov, Kunstler and Harrison? I don’t think so.

Here’s the truth of who I really am. I am a mother, wife, sister, daughter, aunt, cousin and niece. I am a neighbor, friend, student and teacher. I love a lot of people and I don’t want to see anybody I care about (or even somebody I don’t really like) go hungry. I love the little corner of the planet I live on with a fierce and abiding passion.  I am sometimes moved to weeping by the way the light sits on my front steps at 4:00 on a summer, evening.  The crunch of January snow under my feet while I walk to the back field to watch a full moon rise is such a pure, clear, rich sound.  Every blade of grass belongs to me the way my children belong to me. Not through ownership but stewardship.

When I first began reading the folks I just listed, the ones who knew their stuff, it occurred to me that something serious was afoot, that it was going to change things I didn’t want changed and I needed to pay attention.

It worries me a bit to think that anyone out there thinks of me as an activist. I hope the only choice isn’t between activist and uninformed. I want this movement to belong to everybody with a stake in this planet.

Bruce and I took the kids for long walk this afternoon. We came home, famished and aware that the dinner fairy had failed to stop by again. Not to worry. I had dinner on the table in a 1/2 hour. As usual, I evaluated it based on what we had grown or foraged, what we had purchased in bulk and stored, and determined what substitutes could be made should the trucks stop running. Here’s the menu.

Chicken and carrots in gravy, biscuits, canned peaches and rice pudding.  I canned the chicken last summer. It is energy intensive to can meat but once you have it, you have it. I have lost a freezer full of meat before and it’s terrible. Canned chicken only needs to be heated up. I canned the carrots too. I use cold storage for carrots usually but it is a good idea to have some canned ones for the nights you are in a hurry. I store corn starch to thicken the gravy but I could use flour if I didn’t have it. I grow and store lots of herbs. The salt and pepper are stored. I would miss salt so I store a lot. The biscuits required flour, butter, baking powder salt and milk. I would make sour dough biscuits if I didn’t have baking powder. We used to grow wheat in Massachusetts. I assume we could again. The peaches were from a neighbor’s orchard. I canned quarts and quarts last summer.

When I wrote about loving my people and my place, I should have added food. I adore good food, lovingly prepared and shared with my family and friends. Peak oil hits me, as it ultimately will everyone,right where I live. Maybe this is where all activists are born-from the heart and the soul of who we are. If so, then I am honored to be in such good company. Thanks again, Sharon.

