I am not a cocktail party kind of girl. I like small gatherings of people who lead interesting lives. I loath the kind of big party where one has to define onesself by what kind of car one drives, what college one’s child attends and what one does for a living. I drive an old car, believe the value of a college education is highly overrated and neither Bruce nor I have been employed in the formal economy for years. In a group of Lexus driving, Harvard graduates who head off to corporate jobs every morning I stick out like a tabby cat at a dog show.

It seems to me that are two distinct kinds of people out there. There are the folks who think this economic downturn is temporary and that the government is fixing everything. They tend to believe that technology will solve our environmental and energy problems. They often think a rise of 3 or 4 degrees would make life in Massachusetts a bit more pleasant. They have never heard of Hubbert’scurve. They buy organic produce from California and think that people who store food are wacko doomers. They think it is quaint that I can and dehydrate food and grimace at the thought of looping off a chicken’s head themselves while chowing down on a Cordon Bleu prepared with factory raised poultry.

Then there’s my kind of people. We don’t necessarily think the government has it all together. We don’t see that technology has any idea where to go from here as far as environmental and energy problems are concerned. We think that a 3 degree temperature rise will mean game over for some of the global population. My kind of people think we are at the top of the curve now and want point of origin labeling for all food. Canning food is work, not a quaint hobby. If you are going to eat meat, you should know what it went through to get to your plate and be willing to be part of the process. We waco doomers with stored food get annoyed at people who say they don’t store anything but will come to visit if the grocery stores don’t open.

Fortunately, I no longer have to attend cocktail parties very often (another benefit to being unemployed) but I still have to interact with people who think I’m nuts. I know I am not alone in this dilemma. If you are reading this blog, chances are you grow some of your own food. You store supplies for use during a crisis. You are most likely an independent thinker. I am taking a kind of survey. What do you say to to the uninformed? I am curious about what you say at family gatherings and to people who ask if it wouldn’t be cheaper to buy vegetables rather grow them. Do you admit that the mushrooms they are raving about were gathered from the side of the road? Do you discuss the finer points of gutting a hen in polite company? Do you admit that you have a firearms permit?

I think this is an important conversation to have. Having written a book on the subject of crisis preparedness makes this a moot point for me. The subject will come up. I do want to hear from the rest of you about your own experiences. Write soon. I have a party to go to.

