Easter dinner yesterday included applesauce, string beans and potatoes from our storage food as well as a terrific salad made with greens from the greenhouse. The first big salad of the spring is always a treat after so much canned, frozen and dried food during the winter. This really got me thinking about how to extend my harvest with row covers, succession plantings and indoor container plantings.

I wrote a while ago about trying to figure out a way to grow tomatoes upside down without investing in a $20.00 “system” I have a couple of ideas. I was going to go with burlap but I am not sure it will hold up all summer. I saw a plan for using a 6 gallon bucket with a hole drilled in the bottom. I would consider this if I had a free source and if the buckets could not be put to better use for food storage. Now I am wondering about food grade plastic bags. I am still figuring out the hanging problem. A bag of dirt is heavy. Add 10 lbs of tomatoes and you have a engineering problem. I am mulling over using apple baskets. I could set up a couple of saw horses, lay a couple of boards between them and line up the baskets, resting between the boards. The problem is that I don’t think they are tall enough to keep the fruit off the ground.

I also saw a system for growing 100 pounds of potatoes in a 4×4 foot plot. I read the directions but couldn’t figure out how they harvested from the bottom without disturbing the rest of the plant. This does not mean I will not give it a try.

We have found ourselves with a corner that need a plant. At first we wanted Josta berries but they can’t be grown near white pine. Now I am thinking a strawberry tower. It will be pretty and provide us with a pile of berries.

We are expecting our Fedco order any day now. It will be a big order as I didn’t know that Bruce had put in an order and he didn’t know I did so we have a double order. We are expecting peach trees, plum trees, cherry trees, blackberries, more raspberries, more hazelnuts and a few more perennials. This is my favorite time of the year. I love getting the seedlings in and seeing our farmstead take shape.

