I watched the news this week and I can only hope you are all up to date on the important stuff going on in the world. In case you missed any of it, here’s the recap.

Madonna can adopt a child from Malawi: What I did not see was any mention of the 600,000 kids sitting in foster care in this country and the huge number of them that need permenant  homes. With the money spent on this fiasco, Madonna could have adopted a US child from the foster care system for free and used the savings to fund a health clinic in Appalachia or a community garden and food preservation center in Detroit.

Chastity Bono is getting a sex change operation: It’s her money but I can’t help but think of the thousands of elderly choosing between food, heat and medication and it seems wrong.

Celebrities were mistreated on the show, “I’m A Celebrity-Get Me Out Of Here”. I am not hearing much about our American journalists being held in a forced labor camp in North Korea. I can only hope that more is going on behind the scenes than we are aware of.

What does all of this have to do with preparedness and sustainability you might ask. Maybe nothing and I am just complaining but maybe a lot. Mental preparedness matters as much as physical preparedness both during a crisis and in long term sustainability. Stored food and supplies will get you only so far down the road, then you have to rely on your wits, work ethic and ingenuity to get by. I so fear that a nation that cares about any of the silly stories that pass for news in this country is in big trouble. I know I am preaching to the choir on this blog; we all have real lives to attend to, but I am thinking about our responsibility to our communities. The reason this is coming up for me at this time is probably because I am doing a September workshop on food preservation. When I called the County Extension Service for more canning information several months ago, I was told they had no one on staff who did that any longer because there was no interest. One of my goals for the coming months is to spread the food preservation word. I have gotten my adult children canning supplies this month. I give canned goods for gifts whenever I can(pun-pun) (alright- a boy graduating from high school might not be impressed with a jar of pickles but a new mother might appreciate a box of home canned food). I will bring preserved food to every pot luck and serve some at every dinner I prepare for friends and family. I will offer free classes to any low income group that will have me. I will do what I can to make canning news. I probably can’t compete with Madonna but I will make headlines in my own little world.

It is a beautiful day. I am going to find the time to sit on my porch swing and listen to the birds, look at my flowers and remember to be grateful for my blessings. It is my way of going to church every day.

 

PS I want to thank chicky-bit-run for the lovely post on her blog. It made my day.

