Thursday, July 9th, 2009


I have been up and down for several days but I truly think I am getting better. Since I couldn’t go out and was not up to garden work I played catch up around the house. I picked things that could be finished in a few minutes like sorting my seeds and tossing out the ones that got left in the too hot green house or had gotten damp. I set a bunch of older seeds out on damp paper towels to see if they would germinate. I cleaned out a couple of kitchen drawers and got a pile of canning jars washed and ready for my first batch of jam. These are all things I can do for a few minutes and then go read or watch TV or sleep. I even sorted out my Tupperware cabinet, an interesting thing to call it as I have very little actual Tupperware. What I do have is stuff I pick up at tag sales and thrift shops.

I want to thank everyone for the good wishes and advice. This is such a lovely and interesting community. I wish we were all geographically closer but better to be spiritually closer I guess.

I take it back. I don’t have a cold. I think I have the flu. It waxes and wanes and when my fever is down I am able to pick a few berries and herbs and get them in the dehydrator. Other than that, I am mostly on the sofa, feeling sorry for myself and grateful that we are so well prepared that I have no need to be dragging myself anywhere. I did run out to pick up my daughter at work yesterday. An hour later the fever was back and I was down and out for the rest of the evening.

The point of this rant is to reiterate that now is the time to prepare. If not for a year, then at least for 4 months when the flu might make outside contact dangerous. Canned juices and soups, palliative medications, pet food, you know the drill. Note what you use on a weekly basis and do the math. Get what you need now.

I am going back to bed. Stay well and keep in touch.