I take it back. I don’t have a cold. I think I have the flu. It waxes and wanes and when my fever is down I am able to pick a few berries and herbs and get them in the dehydrator. Other than that, I am mostly on the sofa, feeling sorry for myself and grateful that we are so well prepared that I have no need to be dragging myself anywhere. I did run out to pick up my daughter at work yesterday. An hour later the fever was back and I was down and out for the rest of the evening.

The point of this rant is to reiterate that now is the time to prepare. If not for a year, then at least for 4 months when the flu might make outside contact dangerous. Canned juices and soups, palliative medications, pet food, you know the drill. Note what you use on a weekly basis and do the math. Get what you need now.

I am going back to bed. Stay well and keep in touch.

