My son is out of the country on a business trip this week and we are keeping his children. He’s a single dad with full-time custody of his kids and he works from home. He does his best and hires a lot of help but he is not good at making his kids eat a healthy diet. As a result, the kids act they are being tortured when confronted with plates full of vegetables. For us, we try to make the meat at a meal play second fiddle and eat meatless meals several times a week. I came up with a recipe that got butternut squash into them with no complaints. I mixed 1 cup of cooked squash, 1 egg, 1/2 cup flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1 teaspoon honey, and 1/2 teaspoon salt into a thick batter. I dropped small spoonfuls into hot oil and fried on both sides until crisp. You might have to fiddle with the flour amount depending on how moist your squash is. The kids like these a lot.

I think emergencies are hard on kids who are used to things being one way and one way only. Juice comes out of a box with a straw, entertainment is plugged in and clothes are worn once and tossed on the floor for the laundry fairy to pick up. I think my kids have had good lives. They work harder than many kids work and I expect them to eat what’s on the table without complaining. Their rooms are colder than they would like and if they want clean clothes they know where the washing machine is (and they know how to use the hand washer too). I just don’t believe they have suffered much from it. I hate to write stuff like this. It makes me thiink the next step is , “when I was a kid….”.

