A couple of readers asked about TEOTWAWKI. If I woke tommorrow and found that a solar storm had knocked out the grid and learned that it was not going to up and running for 6 months, what would I be glad I  had and what would I wish for.

Andrea had a good idea with the list of 100. This list was compiled after the siege of Sarajevo. It lists the top 100 things that disappeared. It is a good beginning if you are new to preparedness. Here goes with my own list, written in a coffeeless stupor at 5:00 AM.

Glad I have:

two plus cases of canning jar lids and hundreds of jars

lots of heavy blankets

redundant ways to cook

lots of liquid paraffin lamp fuel

root cellar

greenhouse

perennial food plants

a walkable community

friends

good boots

hand tools

crank radio

bees

At the top of the list are my books. I have books on every aspect of self sufficient living. Knowledge is a powerful tool. My DH has the mind of an engineer and between us, we can pretty much solve any problem thrown at us.

What I wish I had:

better bikes for all of us

an outdoor oven

a better wood stove and three years of cut and seasoned wood

hunting experience and lots of stored ammo

youth

The top of my list would have to be medication. I have a kid who is med dependent and this is a drug that is not available for stockpile.

These lists assume stored food, food processing equipment, a source of water, seeds and gardening supplies. This should generate some discussion. What do you have and what do you wish for? Do you have a strategy for acquiring what you want? Have you had some experience that would point out a need we might have missed? Let’s hear from everyone. There is so much to learn.

