Okay. I admit it. I’m a notebook junkie. I love the organization of the printed word and color coded page dividers and dated entries. I could spend a fortune in a place like Staples. I know that most of it is unnecessary clutter but I find myself drawn to it anyway. Naturally, I am delighted to have a reason to start another journal.

It occurred to me while at my permaculture guild that I am going to be putting in a lot of unfamiliar food plants this spring and they are not going in traditional garden rows but will instead be planted in the wild margins. I just know that I am going to lose good food sources if I don’t keep some control over the planting. I am going to use the suggestion of old vinyl mini blinds to mark my new plants but I still need to start journal, not just for the where but for the why.

Some plants are just there to attract pollinators, some to fix nitrogen and some to mine the soil for mineral but some are for food. I have added a new category to my garden notebook that addresses this.  An example is the ground nuts. I am not familiar with them so I will need a page that tells me when to harvest, how to prepare them and how to store them for winter use.  If nothing else, this is the kind of project that will get me through another cold winter’s day when spring seems very far away.

Just a side note: My daughter-in-law seemed amazed to find that I had a regular old egg beater in my baking drawer. I went shopping to get her one and could find one anyplace. I didn’t have time to hit the thrift shops but even some of the funky little places that sell this sort of thing didn’t have one. I have a friend going to Lehman’s this week when she goes out to visit family in Ohio and she is going to get one for me but is strikes me as odd and worrisome that it should be so hard to find such a mundane and useful little tool. I use my egg beater all the time. It seems silly to plug-in an appliance to do a job that only takes a minute.  I often wonder how many labor-saving devices don’t save labor at all when you are done dragging them out, cleaning them and putting them back. Lots of times, my hands are my best tools with  a simple spoon or fork and a really good knife running a close second.

