I rarely go to the supermarket but I made a stop yesterday. I needed very little but there are a few things I can’t get from the co-op or our little grocery store. I was struck by the “green” advertising everywhere. Everything was being touted as organic or green. The problem I had was trying to discern what was actually environmentally friendly from reading the label. It’s a bit hard for me to swallow (pardon the pun) that a multi-national like P&G or Kraft has small farms tucked away where the farmer is carefully side-dressing the broccoli with composted manure from the chickens that are joyfully pecking around the backyard. I also don’t buy (again, no pun) the claims that any mass-produced chemical cleaning agent is environmentally safe. I am sure that an awful lot of people with no extra cash to spare are still plunking down extra dollars because it feels as though they are doing the right thing. I have compiled a list of things of green choices that are probably a lot less expensive and have less negative impact on the earth than  “buying” green.

Use glass jars instead of plastic bags for storing leftovers. My food holds better and it’s easier to find what I want.

Get one reusable bag for kid’s snacks for school. I use snacksacs, made by a local woman.

Patronize thrift stores. What can I say. Salvation Army is tres chic.

Make holiday decorations from nature. I love a festive house but that stuff nearly all comes from China. Who knows what’s in it.

Buy in season. Oranges are a treat, not a necessity unless you live in Florida. If you live in Florida, you should still eat only real maple syrup.

Give gifts of food. Especially give honey from local bees.

Ignore advertisements, except mine for honey.

Stay home.

Walk.

Drink water.

Strive to keep the holidays sane. Give less each year with the ultimate goal being one gift per person. We are almost there.

Question everything. I know this is hard to believe but advertisers do not have your best interests at heart.

