First, I must send a note to all of my readers who are in harm’s way. We hope you are well and safe. That would include those from Queensland, Japan, the Middle East and a good deal of the US. Between cyclones, volcanoes, snow and ice storms and civil unrest, we have only to wait for a plague of locust.

I have had several requests for canning information, especially cheese. I can’t, of course, suggest that you can cheese as it’s not a USDA approved process. So don’t do it. You’ve been warned. I will say that I do can cheese. It’s pretty easy. I just sterilize wide mouth, 12 oz jars and the lids. I put the sterile jars in a canning kettle about 1/2 full of simmering water. I remove one jar at a time and fill it with 1 inch cubes of cheddar cheese, then put it back in the water. By the time 7 jars are full, the first jar has melted down and I add more cheese. This keeps up until all the jars are full of melted cheese. Remove one jar at a time and put the hot lid on. When all the jars are full and sealed, add enough boiling water from a kettle to cover and process for 40 minutes. The cheese gets a bit sharper over time but We like it a lot. I usually dig it out of the jar but I think you can heat it hot water for a minute and it will slip out. Like I said, don’t try this at home but if you do, let me know how it works for you. I will do a bigger canning post on Friday.

I have the perfect way to spend this cold, snowy day. I’m putting together my Richters herbal order. Just the names of things, Sweet Woodruff, Tansy, Angelica, make me smile and think of summer.

