I’m beat! I went out to the garden, thinking I would pick some strawberries and came in with a huge basket of beans and a second big batch of cucumbers. The thing about vegetables is that they don’t care if it’s hot and sticky or if you might rather spend the day with a good book. They’re ready when they’re ready and today they were ready. I have 16 jars of Dilly Beans and Bread and Butter Pickles cooling on the table, a dehydrator full of eggplant and squash and a freezer full of berries. On a day when the markets are crazy (in fact the whole world looks pretty crazy) my food looks pretty wonderful. I’m posting on Sunday night because I’m thinking it’s time to top off the food tank, so to speak.

How about it? Are you all feeling ready for a week or two of no trip to the local market? I did a quick inventory check and find I need more vinegar, more juice and more canned pineapple. I plan to pick up 20 pounds of stew beef and get that canned up tomorrow night. I lucked out and scored 400 pounds of wheat from a family that’s moving and figured it would cost more to ship it than to buy it again. I should also get more sugar for canning and maybe another 80 pounds of salt.

Don’t misunderstand me. I’m still a slow crash kind of girl but that doesn’t mean that I can’t be persuaded otherwise when new evidence presents itself. I’ve been getting a lot of private emails asking for my opinion on what’s going to happen. I have no idea actually. I am not an economist or an energy expert or anything but a mom with a pile of kids I want to be sure I can feed. Being prepared means not having to panic. Even if I didn’t top off, we would still be just fine.

On another note. We had some rain overnight. I know much of the country, much of the world, is suffering through drought and heat. I hope wherever you are, that you are comfortable and that your stomach is full. We are blessed to have so much that it’s easy to forget just how little we really need.

