First: a camera update. My son placed the order and it’s on its way. I’m so looking forward to pictures and videos. I told him to go for simple. Tech Woman I’m not.

I had one of those mornings. I was picking up my granddaughter in the parking lot of Wal-mart yesterday when my car refused to start. I had to call Bruce to drive all the way in to give me a jump-start and follow me home. The starter motor is shot and that’s not the only problem. The handle on one of the rear doors is gone. It’s not broken. It is just not there. The car has 130 thousand miles and things are beginning to need updating. I had gone out with a friend the other night and we drove in her dandy little Subaru Forester with heated seats and built-in GPS. It was such a pleasure to ride in. I will confess that the first thing I said when Bruce showed up was, “I want a new car!” Fortunately, after nearly 40 years Bruce knows better than to argue with me. I had calmed down by the time I got home and rethought the new car thing.

My car is Toyota Sienna. They are quite reliable and the mileage is good for a van. The body is fine (other than the door handle) and there are many times when I need the space. We dropped the car off last night at a local mechanic. We use this guy all the time. His rates are reasonable and his work is outstanding. He’s going to replace the door handle and the starter motor and replace the belts and hoses while he has it. I’m going to replace the wipers myself. We have an anniversary next week and I’m going to suggest the kids could have the car detailed for us as a gift. It will be clean and ready to go for a lot less than the cost of replacement.

I think our culture has conditioned us to replace out cars every 3 years but a car that’s well maintained should go a lot longer than that. Updates are purely cosmetic and ego related. It doesn’t make sence from a financial or resource standpoint tp buy something new when the old one can be made to function well. I have heard people say that they are buying a new car to save money in better mileage or reduced repair bills. I say do the math. Those aren’t the reasons. The logic holds for houses and clothes, appliances and electronics. We don’t need so much as we want. Hmmm. I’m sensing a theme in my posts. The year of resistance.

Saturday, January 14 is the Winter NOFA conference in Worcester. I’m doing a three hour canning workshop in the afternoon. I have not decided what to take in the morning but I plan on hitting John Jeavons keynote. He will be talking about growing more fruits and vegetables on less land. A good keynote is so motivating. I’m holding off on my berry order until I hear him. Right now I’m leaning toward cranberries, beach plum. quince, sea berries and hops. I’m also thinking about persiimmon and honey berry.

If any of you attend the conference, stop by and introduce yourselves.

